NFPW National Conference

Sept. 6 - 12, 2015 - APC hosts the NFPW National Conference in Anchorage (pre-tours begin Sept. 6, with meetings Sept. 10 - 12). Location: Hotel Captain Cook right in the heart of downtown Anchorage. Check our Facebook page for more information beginning Dec. 2014.

Communications Contest is Now Open 

Committed to professional excellence and the promotion of the highest ethical standards in communications fields, to equal opportunity in those fields, and to the rights and responsibilities of the First Amendment.

Alaska Professional Communicators was founded as Alaska Press Women in Fairbanks in 1961 just two years after Alaska became a state. Pioneer Alaskan journalist Kay Kennedy believed a professional network would benefit female writers and journalists who were geographically scattered and often isolated from other professional women in the "last frontier" state.

Thirty-five years later, the membership voted to change the organization's name to Alaska Professional Communicators to better reflect its diverse nature. Today's members include women and men who work as professional communicators, journalists, writers, editors, teachers, photographers, free-lancers, marketers and public relations specialists.

Together we promote high ideals in print, broadcast and electronic journalism, exchange journalistic ideas and experiences, offer continuing education opportunities to members, and serve the public's right-to-know.

Become a member...

Membership Application (PDF)  

Learn about our 2014 Scholarship winner 

Learn about our 2014 Communications Contest Winners 

Four members of APC attended the 2013 NFPW Conference in Salt Lake City in August. View the Alaska attendees and photos of the conference and tours from NFPW's Flickr site.

Members Honored at November Meeting

 Teeka Ballas







Teeka Ballas, (r) Recipient of 2013 Kay Kennedy Gold Nugget Award presented by Sherrie Simmonds, President


Elise Patkotak

Elise Patkotak (r) recipient of 2013 Betzi Woodman Spark Plug Award presented by Diane Walters, immediate past-president